top of page

FALL 2019

Convention Roundup


Since the last issue of ICO Matters, our alumni have made an impact across several industry conferences.

American Optometric Association (AOA) – June 19-23

Optometry’s Meeting 2019 took place in St. Louis. The AOA’s annual gathering was brimming with news, innovation, and excitement. ICO hosted an Alumni and Friends Reception, and our faculty proudly presented research posters. 

Mark Hennen, OD ‘83, received the AOA’s Distinguished Service Award.

Drs. Lindsay Sicks and Janis Winters each presented 4 hours of CE. 

Dr. Janice McMahon’s poster was chosen as one of the “Top Five” by the AOA.

• Nora Kuby, ’20, won the 28th Annual AOSA Optometry Student Bowl, powered by Essilor, bringing the Ventura Cup back to ICO. This honor was previously won by Taylor Harris, OD ‘18, in 2017.

National Optometric Association (NOA) – July 10-14

The National Optometric Association celebrated its 50th anniversary this year at its annual convention. Students, faculty, and staff traveled to Atlanta for the milestone event. 

• One of NOA’s founders, C. Clayton Powell, OD ’52, was in attendance and celebrated alongside colleagues from ICO.

Nicole Akpunku, OD ’18, and Preston Smith, OD ’15, led a panel on preparation for NBEO. 

• Other notable alumni in attendance included: Millicent Knight, OD ’87, Joseph McCray, OD ’75, Stephanie Johnson-Brown, OD ’78, Jason Blowe, OD ’06, Tanya Parks, OD ’94, Raleigh Bynum, OD ’60, Joyce Ramsue-Thompson, OD ’81, and Janet Wheeler, OD ’08. 

Illinois Optometric Association (IOA) – September 12-15

The Illinois Optometric Association's 2019 convention was held Itasca, Ill. This event is becoming increasingly popular with students. Over 100 aspiring ODs from multiple schools attended and were treated to a separate educational track of programming. Topics for students included patient communication, practice management, and leadership.

Regarding the upcoming year, IOA Executive Director Leann Vanausdoll noted that telemedicine is a key area of attention for the profession in 2019 and beyond. Attendees enjoyed two nights of live music performances, including an all-optometrist rock band. Additional highlights:

Matt Jones, OD ’08, became IOA President-Elect. He will succeed Dr. Tina Funk.

Mark Burke, OD ’10, was honored as Young Optometrist of the Year.

Al Hein, OD ’87, was named the Tom Lawless Keyperson of the Year.

D. R. Gordon, OD ’71, received the President’s Award. 

Thank you to all members of the ICO family who attend events like these. Your participation keeps optometry advancing and assures that ICO is at the forefront of the profession! 

bottom of page